Sri Lanka triumphs over Netherlands to win CWC23 Qualifier Final

Sri Lanka secures victory over Netherlands by 128 runs in CWC23 Qualifier Final.

After winning the toss, Sri Lanka faced challenging conditions but had a solid platform, thanks to a good start between Pathum Nissanka and Sadeera Samarawickrama, who were promoted in the batting order.

The partnership looked comfortable before K. Kroesen took a brilliant catch at short extra cover, dismissing Samarawickrama for 19 runs.

Nissanka’s steady innings came to an end at 23 runs as Aryan Dutt took a sensational catch at fine leg.

After that, Kusal Mendis and Sahan Arachige started the rebuilding process for Sri Lanka, gradually increasing the scoring rate. The partnership looked promising, reaching a stand of 72 runs.

Later, Shakib Zulfikar struck towards the end of the game as Mendis missed the sweep and got dismissed at 43 runs. He decided to review the decision but was unsuccessful, departing after a good innings.

At the halfway mark, the match was evenly poised, and Sri Lanka’s score stood at 124/3.

With Charith Asalanka partnering with Arachige on the crease, Sri Lanka established another crucial partnership, although they couldn’t convert it into a big one. The partnership contributed 64 runs before Zulfikar dismissed Arachige at 57 runs.

This wicket brought a collapse for the Sri Lankans, as Logan van Beek took an easy catch off Vikramjit Singh’s delivery, dismissing Dasun Shanaka at 1 run.

Dhananjaya de Silva remained unbeaten at 4 runs, while Mathisha Pathirana and the other lower-order batsmen fell quickly due to the impressive Dutch performance, resulting in Sri Lanka being bowled out for 233 runs in 47.5 overs.

In response, Sri Lanka put pressure on the Netherlands right from the start, losing wickets consistently in the first 10 overs.

Dushmantha Madushanka initiated the action by getting Vikramjit out on a soft shot, dismissing him for 13 runs. Madushanka then bowled Wesley Barresi, dislodging his middle stump.

Vaanindu Hasaranga, the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, became active again, trapping Teja Nidamanuru at 0, before Madushanka caught Noah Croes at 7 runs.

The Netherlands lost their fifth wicket within the first 10 overs as captain Scott Edwards got run out for 1 run. The collapse continued, and at the score of 15 overs, the Netherlands was struggling at 64/6.

With Max O’Dowd (22*) and Logan van Beek (4*) on the crease, the Netherlands found themselves in deep trouble at 64/6 after 15 overs.

O’Dowd’s tough innings came to an end as Mahesh Thikshana clean bowled him for 33 runs. Thikshana then took his second wicket by trapping Ryan Klein at 2 runs. In the same over, he dismissed Aryan Dutt, caught by Charith Asalanka for a score of 0.

Thikshana continued his impressive spell by bowling Clayton Floyd for 9 runs, ending the Netherlands’ innings at 105 runs.

Sri Lanka emerged as the winners of the CWC23 Qualifier, securing their place in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.